Entropy

“What’s the hardest thing you ever learned, Dad?” I asked abruptly.

He leaned on the rail of the stoop. “Entropy,” he said finally.

I didn’t understand the word and he knew it.

“Entropy is the tendency of everything to move toward confusion and disorder as time passes,” he explained. “It’s part of the first law of thermodynamics.”

I must have looked blank. “No matter how perfect the thing,” he continued patiently, “the moment it’s created it begins to be destroyed.”

“Why was that so hard to learn?”

He smiled. “Because even though I know it to be true, I don’t want it to be true. I hate that it’s true..”

October Sky by Homer H. Hickam Jr.

..the moment something’s created, it begins to be destroyed. Destroyed.

Published by

afina

the girl who struggle with the question, "Who am I?"

Leave me some words

